Posted by: Larzizou | January 3, 2008

Victoria Falls – The Fall, Zimbabwe

Although I have no evidentiary picture, I risked (and highly feared for) my life rafting in the Zambezi river. I have written a pretty amazing account of it in French, firstly because I did not want to forget and secondly to boast (I am such a daredevil). I did the same for The Fall. I am afraid my ability to narrate what I felt concisely and precisely in English limits me to post pictures, so I hope they are eloquent.The bungee cables and the Zambezi river 111 meters down. We jump from the bridge that can be seen in the previous post. It is the third highest bungee in the world.

cimg2130-large.jpg
Only four of us are brave (or clueless) enough to jump. Scott is fearless so we decide that he will jump first, which he agrees to. Although he looks confident, he is no more talkative than Grant, Pippa and I the hour preceding the jump. Getting saddled.
img_1755-large.jpg
img_1759-large.jpg
img_1762-large.jpg
img_1764-large.jpg
The flying man.
img_1765-large.jpg
img_1766-large.jpg
At the very bottom.
img_1768-large.jpg
My face screams “I want to balk but it’s too late”. At this point, I believe I am next to jump. I don’t want to be last; neither do Grant and Pippa but they lost at head or tail.
img_1769-large.jpg
Do you know why they smile ? Correct: because they are not jumping.
img_1771-large.jpg
But I am not the next one to jump, so is the decision of the bungee staff. Grant and Pippa are jumping in tandem.
cimg2219-large.jpg
I cannot help but look at the void. It’s a very unpleasant attraction. If you zoom in, you can see that the ropes are fraying (s’effilocher, in French). All of them. How creepy is it to realize that just before the jump ?
cimg2228-large.jpg
And back up. Which also means: time to get on the platform !
cimg2236-large.jpg
What ?
img_1761-large.jpg
Concentrating and realizing the jumping gear is crappy.
img_1770-large.jpg
You don’t see him, but the cameraman is trying to get me speaking – in vain.
img_1773-large.jpg
Trying to smile. Not working, is it ?
img_1779-large.jpg
I am firmly holding the metallic bar. He is trying to get me holding the handles covered in sticking bands.
img_1786-large.jpg
“Look ahead, not down.” As if…
img_1787-large.jpg
“5, 4, 3, 2, 1, buuunnnggggeeeeeeee”
img_1788-large.jpg
Even in the air, I look stiff. Like a condor.
img_1789-large.jpg
And I have a big ass.
img_1790-large.jpg
Until then, I am still falling straight.
img_1791-large.jpg
img_1792-large.jpg
And now I am spinning like it’s chanukkah.
img_1793-large.jpg
Back up.
img_1796-large.jpg
Up.
img_1797-large.jpg
Down again, spinning.
img_1799-large.jpg
It doesn’t get any better.
img_1800-large.jpg
After having bounced 4-5 times, finally up. It takes at least 5 minutes to get back to the lower level of the bridge.
img_1804-large.jpg
And I still feel upside down inside.
img_1805-large.jpg
Much deserved picture. Although I am smiling, it will take me a good couple of hours to leave my state of shock, and speak and breathe normally.
img_1807-large.jpg
After the jump, the four of us, according to Grant, are “cool as f***”.
Responses

  1. you are my hero

  2. I appreciate very little to benefit from the same comment than someone who boasts strong ties with our most revered president.


Leave a Reply

Categories

