Posted by: Larzizou | January 7, 2008

Swakopmund, Namibia

The first thing to disclose about Swakopmund, a former German colony, is the meaning of its name : mouth of the Swakop. A river, the Swakop also means the intestines. Mouth of the intestines. What can it be ? Anyway, the city boasts a charming colonial architecture.

img_1849-large.jpg

It is the first completely paved city we stay at. The first that (almost) feel like (something similar to) home.

img_1844-large.jpg

I eat oysters for the first time in a dozen years. It is heavenly. I also eat springbok medallion. Same remark. Crocodile, not so much. Below, the worst burger I ever ate. I’d substitute “take” with “run”.

cimg2775-large.jpg

Swakopmund is also an adrenalin territory. The first morning, I opt to sandboard. Note that I have never been on a surf in my life and have usually very little balance. Nevertheless, I seem to be an outperformer.

2-dec-07-024-large.jpg

In your face ! That’s how superstars roll.

2-dec-07-150-large.jpg

Sandboarding can also be done laying. Here, at 80 mph.

2-dec-07-093-large.jpg

Brad and Angelina have also been around here, because at the quad, pictures of them or Samuel L. Jackson (and other local celebrities) fill the space on the walls. I am the only idiot wearing a t-shirt. Idiot because quads go as fast as 70 mph and it’s windy.

1806-large.jpg

The girl before me is p.h.a.t. but pretends not to acknowledge me. How childish…

img_1808-large.jpg

Anyway, we have two hours to conqueer the dunes…

1815-large.jpg

1818-large.jpg

1820-large.jpg

cimg2850-large.jpg

… or get stuck in the sand.

1823-large.jpg

The domino effect.

1824-large.jpg

Wanna come with me ?

1838-large.jpg

Do I really looke like Chips’ Poncherello ? That’s what Steve says.

1841-large.jpg

Playboy December 2007 photoshoot.

1828-large.jpg

1829-large.jpg

1830-large.jpg

I AM LEGEND II

cimg2819-large.jpg

Responses

  1. you are talking absolute crap : swakopmund is the
    mouth of the swakop river

    you’re so ignorant you could be american

  2. Get (a) lost and (b) your facts straight.

    • Larzizou i don t know where you are from ? but you don t know sh it in african geography

  3. hello!,I like your writing very a lot! percentage we be in contact extra approximately your post on AOL? I need an expert in this house to solve my problem. Maybe that’s you! Looking forward to peer you.


Leave a Reply

Categories

