Posted by: Larzizou | June 16, 2008

Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

G.od, these shorts are terrible !

dsc02507-large.jpg

Hand-gliding is for little girls…

dsc02520-large.jpg

Big rasta guy, I am not afraid.

p1020002-large.jpg

Another big guy. Thirty-eight meter tall to be precise.

p1020035-large.jpg

Rio’s bay from the Corcovado.

p1020039-large.jpg

Two good looking guys.

p1020045-large.jpg

Jesus, again !

p1020055-large.jpg

Rio’s bay, again.

p1020066-large.jpg

Fine art on the city’s walls. Rio’s best : the maracana (soccer stadium), Cristo Redentor (38m Jesus), Pao de Azucar (the hill on the left), Lapa’s wall and the slums on the hill.

p1020078-large.jpg

This is a school. If you look carefully, you will notice metallic grids covering the windows. These kids must really hate school.

p1020081-large.jpg

Cristo from afar.

p1020087-large.jpg

Lapa’s wall.

p1020088-large.jpg

Street art.

p1020089-large.jpg

One of the ugliest cathedral I have ever visited in my entire life.

p1020091-large.jpg

Our room with Ouah-lait. The fan was only functioning intermittently. Five minutes on, fifteen off.

p1020095-large.jpg

An anomaly. While I was posting a box at the post office, the female clerk handed me this note. It says “Hey, do you have a lover ? Do you want to go to the beach with me ? I like you ! I am Liza,” then her phone number. I would have called if her arm was not hairier than mine…

p1020097-large.jpg

Lapa at night

p1020111-large.jpg

Lapa at night (bis). The bohemian area.

p1020116-large.jpg

Reminds me of Punta Del Este where, similarly, people hang out, chat and dance at the gas station. I am going to try to start a similar movement in Paris when I go back.

p1020123-large.jpg

I will also try to start to street music movement, born in Lapa.

We (Ouah-lait, chien galeux and his host) end the night at the Rio Scenarium, a terrific three-stories salsa/samba old mansion with live and recorded music. We are instantly under the charm.

This is where, according to the legend, Antonio Carlos Jobim and Vinicius de Moraes wrote the world famous song The Girl from Ipanema.

p1020129-large.jpg

A few blocks down the road, Ipanema’s most glamorous beach, that dwells between posto 9 and posto 10. The arena where the young and beautiful (or sculpted) rest on sunny weekend afternoons. Impressive.

p1020134-large.jpg

Some more.

p1020144-large.jpg

Max Power, a 21 year old British, who has been traveling for a few years, most of his time spent in Thailand. Although he is really nice, outgoing, fun and I like him more than reasonably for having known him for such a short time, the person I am really trying to capture in this picture is the blond girl right behind him.

p1020151-large.jpg

Brazilians really know how to play.

p1020159-large.jpg

Even on a voleyball field…

Brazilians are curvy.

p1020169-large.jpg

Antonio and Vinicius must have had her (or her mother or grand mother) in mind when they wrote the Girl of Ipanema. Lyrics :

“Tall and tan and young and lovely, the girl from Ipanema goes walking, and when she passes, each one she passes go – ha. When she walks, she’s like a samba that swings so cool and sway so gentle that when she passes, each one she passes go – ha. Oh, but I watch her so sadly, how can I tell her I love her, I would give my heart gladly, but each day when she goes to the sea, she looks straight ahead not at me. “

p1020180-large.jpg

p1020181-large.jpg

I cannot decide whether the tight shorts related to fashion or patriotism.

p1020196-large.jpg

Ipanema’s emblematic tiling.

p1020206-large.jpg

This picture is the answer to the following questions :

(1) Why are Cariocas (inhabitants of Rio) so well built ?

(2) Why do I keep a shirt on the beach ?

p1020208-large.jpg

To look good on the beach, there is nothing like KFC. My first. It had to be with Ouah-lait (if you know what I mean).

The Maracana can hold more than 100 000 persons. Fortunately, I am not interested in soccer.

p1020214-large.jpg

I took this picture for the tiling, of course.

p1020216-large.jpg

Everywhere in the world, you can find CUSCUS.

p1020219-large.jpg

Ouah-lait, as always.


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

God was I mistaken to listen to Youri’s advice to “shave it all off”. The day ugly became my middle-name.

And I have no right to be ugly tonight because it is my last night in Rio (and Brazil too); I have to be at the top of my game for…the incredible baile funk party in the favelas.

I have never experienced such energy.

Learning the basics of the local dance with Seu, a carioca friend of Max Power we randomly ran into.

Fireworks in an old warehouse-like brick construction. Nothing exceptional : Rio is dangerous, you have been warned.

Guess where Snoop Dogg’s video clip dancers got their inspiration from…

As usual, I strongly recommend that you pay a visit to Youri’s blog and to Wale’s, who each devoted two webpages to the “Ciudad Maravilhosa”.

Responses

  1. […] Rio de Janeiro, BrazilAnd I have no right to be ugly tonight because it is my last night in Rio (and Brazil too); I have to be at the top of my game for…the incredible baile funk party in the favelas. I have never experienced such energy. … […]

  2. Hey Larzizou,
    baile funk party sounds great! I know you went to Rio, but do you know anybody in Sao Paulo who could bring me that kind of party?!!!! Unfortunately all my Brazilian friends won’t because they are not interested. They think it is too dangerous…
    Take care!
    ebbe


Leave a Reply

Categories

