Posted by: Larzizou | June 27, 2008

Lake Titicaca, Isla del Sol, Bolivia

I waited two consecutive days, seven hours each time, at La Paz military’s airport. Because of weather conditions, no plane is flying to Rurrenabaque, the jungle. I will try to get there from Peru instead and make my way from La Paz to the Bolivian side of Lake Titicaca : Copacabana.

The ride – 4h by bus – is gorgeous. Judge by yourself.

This guy… What can I say ? He gave me a whole new perspective on traveling by bus. And I have traveled by bus – a lot.

Our first night in Copacabana. One of the very few restaurants of this tourist-only city. The ambiance is very… Bolivian. On the menu, trout, prepared however you like it. For me, it’s a la plancha and, fortunately, edible. I am not sure the same can be said about what my neighbors eat.

This is the lake, early in the morning. Maybe too early, the sky is still cloudy.

We opt for a visit of Isla del Sol, 1h30 away from Copacabana by boat.

In case you ever wondered what a Boliviana Mama looked like…

Authentic dragon pirogues.

On the island, first comes the ruins visit.

The table where the 12 priests congregated, used to cook breakfast, sip beer, play cards or video game and discuss current affairs. Stefan and I are humbled and honored to be on such important ground.

After the ruins visit comes a three-hour(-)long but (photographically) rewarding walk.

A man gotta do what he gotta do.

Back to the amazing landscapes.

A woman gotta do what she gotta do.

Back to breathtaking landscapes.

And a video too.

Then, playing games. The original.

The first modification.

The second modification. And the ultimate, you can read on top of this page.

This road is long. Very long. So long. You have no idea.

Towards the end.

“Give me money.” For a second, this request reminded me Africa. Then I looked at their voracious and angry faces.

I comply and give each of them a coin. On the 5 soles coin (the highest denomination) I give this little girl is drawn the sun. That infuriates her. She pursues me and asks for another coin, shouting. I have no more coins. She is stubborn, but there is nothing I can do really besides asking the other kids to share with her – which they are not inclined to do. So now you know than on Isla del Sol (“Sun Island”), 5 soles sun coins are not welcomed by local kids.

Stefan and Andreas again (and a Scottish girl who really really liked Andreas). We had planned to leave Loki, our guesthouse, together, to get to Copacabana, but lost each other. Fate put us in the same bus though, so here we are together again.

Leave a Reply

Categories

