Posted by: Larzizou | June 3, 2009

Hong Kong Nights (and days), SAR, China

p1120322-large

No mistake. We’re still in wonderland.

Rules must be observed. Pertaining to about everything, edicted with a patronizing tone. Annoying as can be.

It starts slowly in the elevator…

p1120306-large

…continue on the pavement…

p1120483-large

…and in the subway…

p1120321-large

…where public health is an acceptable concern…

p1120454-large

…while hygiene lifestyle advices are more arguably intrusive…

p1120455-large

…and conveyed through dubious pedagogy, beyond stupidity.

At this point, you must imagine me, hindering the passage in the subway, trying to take pictures of the texts before they fade. Ridiculous is the word.

p1120453-large

However, I have never seen such a clean subway – with free internet-browsing stations.

Steamy club pictures. Pierre Alexis. Doing a bunch of stuff in Hong Kong, ranging from marketing for an international sports company to part-time modeling (and holding prospectuses in clubs). It seems every single person in Hong Kong is a part time lover model. No offense, but the standards seem to be significantly lower than elsewhere. This reminds me of a not-particularly-attractive girl who once introduced herself as a model in New York – and whom Davalou later unmasked as being a foot model.

Truth to be said though : I have seen more (underage) gorgeous models in the subway, streets or clubs of Hong Kong than in any other city (beating easily NY, Singapore, London…). Maybe because Hong Kong is a regional hub and so small that it is hard not to notice foreigners.

p1120252-large

Obviously, most people are not models. Like her, like me.

p1120255-large

Like her ? Like me.

“- Hey, where are you from ?

Je suis française aussi, laisse tomber.”

p1120256-large

Dangerousness.

p1120271-large

Arbitrage opportunity.

p1120277-large

Nothing better to cure a hangover than going to the beach – and boxing. That’s why I leave it to other people.

p1120280-large

One of Hong Kong’s tiny beaches.

p1120281-large

” – Hi, are you brazilian?

No, Italian.”

The rest is history.

The first girl I encountered at the beach.

p1120282-large

I am not sure what the role of this guy is. He seemed to be rowing all day long but didn’t move by an inch.

p1120289-large

Summertime, and the living is easy

p1120291-large

Sunday, 8pm, getting dark, and some people still want to stay. I can only understand.

p1120297-large

Sitting at the dock of the bay

p1120307-large

This picture should sit next to “busy” or “cluttered” in the dictionary.

p1120309-large

A breathe of fresh air, in the dense over-heated metropolis.

p1120314-large

Never seeing the sky has been made so hard. Babel towers at every street corner.

p1120315-large

Such strict laws enacted in Hong Kong !

p1120316-large

Shady enforcement…

p1120317-large

Although I very much like vibrant and busy cities, this one made me want to live in a secluded beach hut.

p1120318-large

Tragedy in the subway (aka Lehman’s downfall anouncement).

p1120320-large

How can I spend my last day in Hong Kong (that I am so happy has finally arrived) ? Museum. Hong Kong Science Museum.

p1120457-large

And I thought we were closer to 6 billions than 7.

The day I learnt Nigeria was twice as populated as France.

p1120462-large

What do you think it is ? Neither do I.

p1120463-large

DNA – for dummies.

p1120464-large

Spectrum.

p1120467-large

Optical clonage.

p1120470-large

Bis.

p1120471-large

Ter.

p1120473-large

p1120474-large

!

p1120477-large

Slim Phil.

p1120478-large

Wide Phil.

p1120479-large

Twin Phil.

p1120481-large

And the last night, spent clubbing around. Dragon Eye can hardly be beaten for model eye candy, but the vibe is kind of arrogant and some might say this is not where I belong. Also, the space is rather oppressive and the staff less than cordial.

Therefore, I venture into Volar. Much smaller, much better vibe. As Dragon Eye, caters mostly for foreigner. It seems they strictly enforce a 80% model rule. Had they enforced a 99% model rule, a premium for averageness could have done me a favor.

Anyway, it is quite easy to make contact here and start a conversation. Here’s an excerpt (picture below); approaching a girl who was staring at me :

“- Hey how are you ?

– I am good and you.

– Good. You have an accent… Where are you from ?

– Brazil.

– Tudo bem ? I love Brazil ! I spent two months around carnival time.

(more talking, about Brazil and other stuffs, she becomes very touchy)

– What’s your name?

(loud music)

– Ca…o

– Sorry, I didn’t hear your name, what is it ?

– Carolino.

– … (?!) Can you say it again, I didn’t hear well ?

– Carolino.

– Ah, nice… My friend is calling me… [I was alone]  I’ll be back in a second.”

Minutes after, the (other) guy, on the right, whom I quickly befriended, was fondly kissing her Carolino. Poor thing. I did not have the courage to tell him and fled. He’ll probably discover soon enough. The hard way.

p1120487-large

What will I not miss from Hong Kong ? Closet-sized bathrooms. You could literally brush your teeth while having a shower and taking a dump. Props to Michael C. whose vertiginous imagination – and practicality – coined the combination.

p1130757-large

Next destination is Shanghai, overnight train…

p1120490-large

Leave a Reply

Categories

